Google to automatically delete web search history

0

Google will offer users the option to automatically delete the location history and web search data it collects

Google must give users the option of being able to automatically delete their search and location history after three months.

He announced the tools for automatic deletion of location history data, as well as web browsing and application activity, which will be rolled out in the coming weeks.

Last November, Google was accused of misleading location tracking, after consumer groups in seven European countries called on their privacy regulators to take action against the search engine giant.

Location tracking

Consumer groups from the Netherlands, Poland, the Czech Republic, Greece, Norway, Slovenia and Sweden have all filed GDPR complaints against Google’s location tracking.

They alleged that Google was tracking the movements of millions of users in violation of European Union privacy laws.

Of course, Google is already facing legal action in the United States for allegedly tracking phone users regardless of privacy settings.

This lawsuit was filed after an investigation by The Associated Press found that a number of Google services running on Android and Apple devices determine the user’s location and store it, even when the Google’s “Location history” setting is disabled.

Remember that Google had already authorized users to manually delete the data it collects when they use its products such as YouTube, Maps and Search.

But now it is trying to give users more control by offering automatic removal tools.

“And when you turn on settings like location history or web and app activity, the data can make Google products more useful to you, like recommending a restaurant you might like or helping you resume. where you left off in previous research, ”David Monsees, research product manager wrote in a blog post.

Automatic deletion

“We are working to keep your data private and secure, and we have heard your comments that we need to provide you with easier ways to manage or delete it,” added Monsees.

“You can already use your Google Account to access simple controls to turn on / off location history and web and app activity, and if you wish, to manually delete all or part of this data, ”he wrote. “In addition to these options, we are announcing automatic deletion controls that make it even easier to manage your data. “

Essentially, the user will have a deadline to choose how long you want your data to be saved. It can be 3 months or 18 months.

All older data will be automatically deleted from your account on an ongoing basis.

“These checks are coming first in location history and web and application activity and will be rolled out in the coming weeks,” Monsees wrote. “You should always be able to manage your data in the way that works best for you, and we’re dedicated to providing you with the best controls to achieve this. “

It should be noted that there will be no automatic deletion of YouTube viewing history or voice commands issued through Home and Assistant.

Quiz: Are you a Google expert?


Source link

Share.

Leave A Reply